Day 93 With Dora 

This is going to be short. I’m sorry. It just feels like an important moment to capture.

We’re taking Dora out today as a service dog for the first time. She’s still in training, but she got the go ahead from our service dog trainers to start broader socialization. (Broader than the dog-friendly circle she’s been in so far.) We’re going to a jazz concert at a small local venue and I am terrified.

What if someone gives me trouble about her? I’m already scared to try new things and go out without anyone asking me why I have a service dog or swearing at me. (Peers at the training meeting this week were sharing stories of people shouting at them and swearing at them, and I… I am not looking forward to it happening to me.)

I just want to be able to experience the world without panic attacks, lethargy, terror, and despair. That’s all. 😔

Leave a Reply

