“Subtle Scars”


This is my first watercolor painting. I was trying to learn about how these paints differ from acrylics, how wet they should be, what strokes look like, etc. It’s certainly nothing to write home about, but today, I thought it would be worth making a folder of these, to watch my progress.

I actually believe that I can improve at a new skill, and I am at peace about not being good at it on my first try. This is such amazing progress for me!

It wasn’t that long ago that I was too scared to try things because I thought I would fail, that people would judge me, that I would lose the approval of others, etc. I’ve come so far, and I’m proud of myself. 😊

Anyway, I don’t usually title any of my art, but I named this one “Subtle Scars,” because the tree looks like it’s been struck by lightning. There’s usually a wounded section on the trunk, a large portion that dies because of the current, and then that section eventually falls off. The rest of the tree is often healthy, continuing to grow and thrive long after it has been damaged in the storm. So, that’s what I see on the empty area in the center: the missing branches and the resilient tree carrying on.

2 thoughts on ““Subtle Scars”

Leave a Reply

