Game Therapy: Dragon Age II, More to Unpack from Part 2

I feel like I need to reiterate that in Game Therapy posts, I’m processing my reactions to content included in the game and the insights I can glean from the world I build around the game. It’s usually been easier for me to be honest about my struggles when I don’t even perceive them as mine, but as my avatar’s. I live vicariously through my protagonists, but I always need to insert some of myself back into them. It usually isn’t deliberate, and I think that I’m able to be more honest because it’s subconscious.

That’s what makes it valuable to examine my characters. That’s also what makes it difficult.

4. Responsibility Comes First and 5. Pushing Past Exhaustion:

I don’t want to write this. What can I say? Yes, I will push myself into an emotional meatgrinder if I think it will keep someone I love from feeling even a pinch? Yes. I have done that, still do that, will probably keep doing that. Why?

Because I don’t matter.

How can I still be stuck on this?! I have been wrestling this same monster forever! I thought I had made some progress along the way. Why do I still shudder inside when I even think about this issue?! WHY?!?  😩

😔 It’s just so depressing to feel like I’m not making any progress. I feel like that guy who was sentenced to push a boulder up a mountain for all eternity… Let me look up his name. Sisyphus. My Greek mythology is rusty these days; sorry. Broad strokes: Sisyphus pushes a boulder up the mountain, but it rolls right down the other side. He isn’t allowed to stop until the boulder rests atop the mountain, which is impossible, so Sisyphus travels to the Boulder and begins again. The same thing happens again and it will continue to happen for eternity. He will never ever succeed.

That’s how I feel. 

Like I will just keep sacrificing my happiness and wellbeing for the sake of others (4). Like I will just keep running myself ragged in an attempt to meet people’s expectations of me (5). Like I will never ever be comfortable enough with who I am to just stop. To rest and maybe even enjoy who I am.

I really want to make it one day. To balance the boulder at the top- maybe even to build it some sort of pedestal to hold it in place- and to be done fighting every day. Or even to just ignore the mandate all together and see if I can choose my own path without the universe unraveling.

One day.

5 thoughts on “Game Therapy: Dragon Age II, More to Unpack from Part 2

    • Thank you for commenting. It’s good to know that I’m not alone.

      Dragon Age: Origins is my favorite game, and there are things about the sequel I dislike, but the characters keep drawing me back to it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think origins was by far the most immersive experience for me, but I did enjoy both 2 & 3. I recently purchased the DLC for 3, but when I tried playing it, I had forgotten how to play!! It had been so long since I completed it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I found the achievements/trophies for the Trespasser DLC to be odd, since most of them relate to optional challenges during the main game. The other ones were pretty good- especially The Descent. It really adds to the lore of Thedas, especially if you’re interested in magic.

        Like

      • That sounds great, I will have to revisit it once I’m doing with my current game. Currently playing through the latest exapsion of the witcher 3.

        Like

Leave a Reply

