Watching Her Suffer

Kuno is sick right now. She has been sniffling and coughing for a few weeks, and I hate it so much. If she was any other cat, I would just scoop her into her case and tote her to the vet, but I don’t know if it’s worth it to make her suffer through the long car ride, the vet visit, and the second long car ride. (In case you didn’t know, I wrote earlier about Kuno’s intense fear of cars and the injuries she inflicts on herself while trying to escape from cat carriers.)

I’ve done a bit of research and found that respiratory infections are more serious in cats than they are in humans. For humans, colds are relatively common and may simply be a part of life, while many mild feline ailments actually manifest as digestive troubles or skin problems.

I have been going back and forth about whether or not I am a bad owner. Is it worse to give her two panic attacks in a single day or to let her body fight this infection alone? If I do take her to the vet, those panic attacks ware likely to weaken her immune system further (just like stress affects humans), but she has been so sick lately.

Being responsible for the wellbeing of someone else is hard, especially when I can’t communicate with her. I wish I could explain the car rides or ask her if she feels more or less energetic than she did yesterday. Instead, I just have to watch her symptoms, monitor her eating and digestion, and make my best guess. 

Leave a Reply

